Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

The University of Virginia's College at Wise Foundation

Wise, VA · EIN 54-1638774 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

The University of Virginia's College at Wise Foundation reported $12.8 million in revenue and $2.9 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $91.83 went to program services, $2.97 to management and general costs and $5.20 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 98.0% of the total. Revenue rose 401% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $2.9M

For context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $13M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 5,499 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
91.8%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
3.0%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
5.2%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.01$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
98.0%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
1.5%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
08
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
236.413.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
35 of 35100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$1.9M expenses · 70.0% of program spending · grants $1.5M · revenue $41,442

The University of Virginia's college at wise foundation, in conjunction with the college's office of advancement, raises funds in support of academics. Gifts support endowed funds designated for professorships, lectureships, scholarships, awards, and operational support. In addition, funds are raised to support experiential learning opportunities such as study abroad, undergraduate research, and internships. The college's total enrollment for the year was 2,220. Of this number, approximately 88% of the students at the University of Virginia's college at wise were eligible for some form of…

$799K expenses · 30.0% of program spending · revenue $150K

The University of Virginia's college at wise foundation, in conjunction with the college's office of advancement solicits and obtains funds to support the college's athletic program. Gifts support scholarships, general operating expenses, and special projects that promote the success of the athletic program and student athletes

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$13M$2.9M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$13M$2.9M91.8%$57M—
FY2024 ⓘ$4.5M$4.0M94.3%$43M—
FY2023 ⓘ$3.7M$4.3M95.1%$39M—
FY2022 ⓘ$3.8M$2.5M93.7%$40M—
FY2021 ⓘ$1.9M$2.1M94.1%$42M—
FY2020 ⓘ$2.6M$2.3M92.9%$28M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b35 · 35 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2Yes
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 635

Private foundation grants it received

3 private foundations reported grants to The University of Virginia's College at Wise Foundation totaling $55,135 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from The University of Virginia's College at Wise Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for The University of Virginia's College at Wise Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All education charities · Largest charities in Virginia

Questions people ask

How much of The University of Virginia's College at Wise Foundation's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, The University of Virginia's College at Wise Foundation reported that 91.8% of its $2.9 million in expenses went to program services, 3.0% to management and general and 5.2% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does The University of Virginia's College at Wise Foundation get its money?

Of $12.8 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 98.0% came from contributions and grants and 1.5% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is The University of Virginia's College at Wise Foundation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 54-1638774 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202600269349301550 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202511199349300626 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202401289349302710 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202301359349303550 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202231369349307658 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202120139349301802 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 54-1638774: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.