Home › Civil rights, social action & advocacy
Michigan Civic Education Fund
Michigan Civic Education Fund reported $13.2 million in revenue and $13.1 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $97.22 went to program services, $0.65 to management and general costs and $2.13 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 100.0% of the total. Revenue rose 1353% between 2020 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.
Where $100 of spending went
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $13MFor context, the median across 132 covered civil rights, social action & advocacy charities: $84.11 programs, $11.40 management, $4.49 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $13MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | 2024 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 97.2% | 82.1% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 0.7% | 11.1% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 2.1% | 4.4% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.02 | $0.05 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 100.0% | 94.9% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 0.3% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $321,771 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.81% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | Not reported | 8 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 2.6 | 10.5 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 5 of 5 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseTo initiate, cultivate, and fund strategic nonpartisan efforts in michigan to promote economic and educational opportunity; enhance the quality of life and social welfare; defend and improve government accountability, ethics, and transparency; and strengthen democracy and civic participation
5 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b5 · 5 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
- Document retention policy Part VI 14No
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 50
- Volunteers Part I, line 65
Largest outside contractors
2024 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only| MICHIGAN DONOR ALLIANCE Management | $484,800 |
| MOVEMENT LABS LLC Consulting | $153,167 |
| ASCEND PEOPLE LLC Consulting | $112,575 |
Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 3 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.
Private foundation grants it received
4 private foundations reported grants to Michigan Civic Education Fund totaling $350K on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Michigan Civic Education Fund's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Michigan Civic Education Fund, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Michigan Civic Education Fund spent in 2024, $97.22 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- ProKidsCincinnati, OH · revenue $13M · programs 67.0% · 2024
- Center for Constitutional RightsNew York, NY · revenue $13M · programs 73.5% · FY2025
- ONE ArizonaPhoenix, AZ · revenue $13M · programs 92.2% · 2024
- Montana Conservation CorpsBozeman, MT · revenue $14M · programs 89.4% · 2025
- Legacy Plus FoundationWilliamsville, NY · revenue $13M · programs 79.2% · FY2025
All civil rights, social action & advocacy charities · Largest charities in Michigan
Questions people ask
How much of Michigan Civic Education Fund's spending goes to programs?
In calendar year 2024, Michigan Civic Education Fund reported that 97.2% of its $13.1 million in expenses went to program services, 0.7% to management and general and 2.1% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Michigan Civic Education Fund get its money?
Of $13.2 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 100.0% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Michigan Civic Education Fund a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 82-4762045 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202501789349301125 · read the filing · XML
- 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202443209349323514 · read the filing
- 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202302439349300200 · read the filing
- 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202243199349325989 · read the filing
- 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202142019349300304 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 82-4762045: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.