Charity Impact Media

Home › Philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking

Morgan Stanley Global Impact Funding Trust

Indianapolis, IN · EIN 52-7082731 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Morgan Stanley Global Impact Funding Trust reported $3.08 billion in revenue and $1.67 billion in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $98.64 went to program services, $1.36 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 96.3% of the total. Revenue rose 122% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $1.67B

For context, the median across 1,001 covered philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities: $91.65 programs, $6.50 management, $1.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $3.08B

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 1,001 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
98.6%90.2%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
1.4%6.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%1.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.02
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
96.3%79.9%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$325,675
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.56%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
03
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
64.456.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
14 of 14100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$1.65B expenses · 100.0% of program spending · grants $1.65B

Ms gift is a sponsoring organization of donor advised funds and facilitates grants to more than 6,900 charitable organizations described under section 501(c)(3) within the united states, as well as charitable organizations around the world. Donors are afforded advisory privileges and provide advice to ms gift on which recipient organizations will receive grant funding. Ms gift's grant funds provide selected organizations with resources necessary to further their programmatic activities in an effort to achieve their charitable mission

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$1.00B$2.00B$3.00B$4.00B201920202021202220232024$3.08B$1.67B
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$3.08B$1.67B98.6%$8.98B—
2023 ⓘ$1.88B$1.22B98.4%$6.98B—
2022 ⓘ$1.30B$880M97.8%$5.53B—
2021 ⓘ$2.99B$971M97.8%$6.03B—
2020 ⓘ$1.90B$650M97.8%$4.22B—
2019 ⓘ$1.39B$447M96.9%$2.72B—

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b14 · 14 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2Yes
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bYes
  • Employees Part I, line 50

Largest outside contractors

2024 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
RENPSG
Admin & legal
$14,930,249
ERNST & YOUNG US LLP
Tax & Audit services
$185,460

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 3 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Morgan Stanley Global Impact Funding Trust's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Morgan Stanley Global Impact Funding Trust, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities · Largest charities in Indiana

Questions people ask

How much of Morgan Stanley Global Impact Funding Trust's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, Morgan Stanley Global Impact Funding Trust reported that 98.6% of its $1.67 billion in expenses went to program services, 1.4% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Morgan Stanley Global Impact Funding Trust get its money?

Of $3.08 billion in revenue in calendar year 2024, 96.3% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Morgan Stanley Global Impact Funding Trust a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 52-7082731 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202503239349300435 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202403209349313980 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202302999349301010 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202203199349314745 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202143219349301454 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202013249349301811 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 52-7082731: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.