Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

West Texas Matador Club

Fort Worth, TX · EIN 87-4126411 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

West Texas Matador Club reported $14.0 million in revenue and $11.4 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $99.20 went to program services, $0.54 to management and general costs and $0.26 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 99.7% of the total. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $11M

For context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $14M

Other revenue was negative: −$3,140. The bar shows the positive sources only.

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 5,499 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
99.2%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
0.5%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.3%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
99.7%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
08
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
4.513.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
8 of 8100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$11M expenses · 100.0% of program spending

The organization engages in community development, hospital and wellness support, mentoring and youth development, education, and poverty relief by creating partnerships between texas tech university alumni, student-athletes and the local community. The organization will empower student-athletes to stay in school and support themselves financially. As a byproduct of fulfilling these charitable purposes, student-athletes grow personally and support civic and charitable involvement. The organization's exempt purposes are furthered by donating the time and inherent benefits of celebrity, through…

3 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20M202220232024$14M$11M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$14M$11M99.2%$4.2M—
2023 ⓘ$6.8M$6.1M95.5%$1.6M—
2022 ⓘ$2.9M$2.0M92.9%$902K—

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b8 · 8 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2Yes
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50

Largest outside contractors

2024 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
STOMPING SOLUTIONS #24
Serving at local nonprofits
$336,000

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 18 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from West Texas Matador Club's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for West Texas Matador Club, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All education charities · Largest charities in Texas

Questions people ask

How much of West Texas Matador Club's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, West Texas Matador Club reported that 99.2% of its $11.4 million in expenses went to program services, 0.5% to management and general and 0.3% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does West Texas Matador Club get its money?

Of $14.0 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 99.7% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is West Texas Matador Club a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 87-4126411 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202523209349301767 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202443199349306484 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202343199349314984 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 87-4126411: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.